Rawk Your Health Blog

Having FUN with Health! ON MAUI…

Creamy Whipped Hummus & Pesto Recipes July 5, 2010

Filed under: Gardening,How To,Raw Foods,Raw Recipes,Recipes — rawkyourhealth @ 10:46 am

Aloha!

I just had a special request  from my mom,  for my Hum-azing Hummus and  Pesto Recipes. I have to admit, these are 2 quite DELICIOUS concoctions. I thought you might enjoy trying them. Super TASTY, easy and so versatile. I didn’t invent these, but I sure have perfected them! We like them as a spread in our wraps and also yummy just as a dip with veggies or anything.  These are 2 staples we like to keep on hand at all times. Its all about the sauces!! 🙂  (In this pic, I actually put the parsley in, however, I recommend keeping it creamy and just garnish with it)

Hope you enjoy.

Also, don’t forget how easy it is to grow basil. Just take a stem from your bunch and plant it. It will grow!!!!

…into a plant that you can use for a long time… I love it. Still amazes me!  It is so awesome to be able to just go outside and get some basil from my yard.  (See my purple basil pic)

So the main thing I use in these recipes is the food processor. I couldn’t live with out it. So if you have that, these are really easy.  

Hum-Azing Hummus- Whipped Creamy

1 Cup Garbanzo Beans (Soak overnight, rinse, then boil/simmer until very soft/drained)

1/2 Cup Tahini

4 Large Cloves Garlic Minced (extra if you want spicy garlic topping)

1/2 Cup Lemon Juice

1/3+ Cup Olive Oil

A little water

Parsley for garnish

3/4 Tsp. Ground Cumin

Salt/Pepper

The important first step is to process the tahini and lemon juice. Make sure you really cook the beans SOFT. Then add the beans, garlic, olive oil, salt pepper cumin, and a little water to get it going. Drizzle in olive oil until super creamy. Process until very smooth. I like to garnish with parsley and add a few tablespooons of minced garlic soaked in olive oil and cayenne pepper to the top of the fresh batch once its in your bowl. This definitely has a kick! YUM!

Hope ya like it!

Pretty Pesto

4 Cups Basil (Use a variety if you have)

3-4 Garlic Cloves Minced

1/2 Cup Parmesean Grated (omit if desired, still very tasty without)

1/ 3 Cup Pine Nuts (soaked  30 min)

1/2 Cup Olive Oil or any oil

1/4 Cup Lemon Juice

Salt / Pepper

Love…

Have your garlic minced.

In the food processor- chop the basil with a few pulses.

Add parm, nuts, lemon juice. Secure your lid.

Process while you drizzle the oil in through the opening. Use as much oil as you want until it reaches the ultimate consistency for your taste buds!

… mmmm

Then, stir in the salt and pepper and I know you are sure to enjoy this one. One of THE best!

Wishing you fun in the kitchen!

Aloha~

Sara

 

Leave a Reply

